New Year’s Resolutions

I started this blog last summer to practice writing informally. I wrote consistently during my study abroad trip to Ireland, but quickly got out of habit once the fall semester began. Today, I resolve to be more consistent. I want to share with you – all three of you (hey Mom!) – what I want to accomplish this year. I believe accountability encourages good practices, so please help me in whatever manner to follow through with my resolutions this year.

1. Maintain a regular blog.
Ideally, I’d like to post once a week. But who am I kidding? I know that things come up: homework, sorority meetings, family lunches, Netflix binging personal time. So realistically, “regular” will mean once a month. But I’m holding myself to it. I will blog at least once a month this year.

2. Journal daily
In high school, I kept a detailed and well-organized journal. I have three books in my drawer full of mundane entries like what I ate for lunch, what “it” ZHS couple broke up, and why I hated chemistry so much. But every once in a while, I would write something really thoughtful and interesting for a 15-year-old. I read them from time to time, and love to see how I’ve grown. I know that years from now I will still treasure those diaries. Somehow I fell out of practice during college, but this year I resolve to bring that habit back. I want my senior year at LSU documented, and I want to write in my journal every day.

3. Floss daily
Because, good hygiene.

4. Maintain a healthy lifestyle
Flossing falls under this. I also want to exercise regularly, take my vitamins, drink lots of water, eat when I’m hungry, stop eating when I’m full, and get a good night’s rest. I’m not trying to lose weight, or fit a size smaller dress. I actually am pretty confident in how I look. But, I’m not confident in how I feel about my overall health. I can always treat my body better. Plus, being healthy physically means less stress mentally. I always need less stress.

5. Graduate with honors
I’ve got a good GPA. I just have to maintain it to have that asterisk by my name in December.

6. Come to terms with graduation
I am on track to earn my undergraduate from LSU in December. I’m excited for what’s to come after graduation, but I’m scared to end this chapter of my life. 2014 will be a year of lasts: last football game, last formal dance, last night in the ZTA house. I’m probably going to cry many times this year. But, I resolve to have a positive outlook for what’s to come. I resolve to do my best and live in the moment.

7. Priortize
I like learning new things. I like earning A’s. I like getting started with my career. But ultimately, those things don’t matter. When it comes down to it, the things I love most in this world are my family, boyfriend, friends, sisters and church. This year, I resolve to love these people unconditionally. To support them, to love them, to care for them, to spend time with them, to have fun with them. I resolve to go to church every Sunday to worship God with my family and friends, and then to enjoy fellowship at lunch after. I resolve to make time for my boyfriend in our hectic schedules. I resolve to actually get out and go to dinner, or the movies, or even Reggie’s parties with my sorority sisters. These memories will last a lifetime. I want to make sure I make good ones this year with the people I love the most.

8. Live the ritual
I will serve my chapter during 2014 as the ritual chair. I want to lead by example. I will learn those rituals forward and backward, and I will live them out. Even though it is secret, a stranger should know what ZTA stands for based on my actions and words. I resolve to teach my chapter what the ritual means, and show them how to live it out.

9. Pray every morning
I usually pray right before bed, but this year I want to pray in the morning as well. What better way to begin the day than in conversation with God?

10. Not beat myself up if I break these resolutions
I’m human. I will mess up. I really want to attain all these goals, but I also need to realize that it’s ok if I fall short. I can always try again next year.

Leave a Reply

